Biography of the artist

LISE PARADIS was born and raised in Montreal. She lives and works in Laval since almost fifty years. She received her primary artistic training at the Beaux-Arts, Mtl. ‘’charcoal and pastel’’ (1951-52-53) and then at Salette Studio,Mtl., (1957 through 1960) to master commercial drawing, lettering, fashion design ans also illustration.

Her paintings are inspired by the nature and scenes of everyday life. Strength and gentleness blend together harmoniously in her work which is very versatile; there are some landscapes, caracters, still lifes including flowers. Children, animals and birds have always had an important place in her paintings.

Although she mainly uses oils, her favourite mediums are (besides oils) watercolours and acrylics which please her very much, while pastel and charcoal are old friends. She is ‘’self-taught’’ for the following mediums: oils, watercolours and acrylics.

Lise Paradis is a tireless worker. She has participated in several group exhibitions and, as an individual, has had many successful ‘’Solos’’ , such as the Montreal Botanical Garden, in 1987; Verdun Cultural Center in 1987; the France Martin gallery (Montreal) in 1988; in Maryland USA (near Washington) in 1991-92-93; the Lune bleue Gallery (Laval) in 1992; the Vaudreuil-Dorion Museum in 1993; the Hall des Arts/Laval City Hall in 1996; the Salle André Mathieu main Hall (Laval) in 2002 and others before 1987. She also exhibited as a Duo at the Manseau Gallery (Joliette) in 1992 and 1994. She received the ‘’People’s choice’’ award, four times. One of her paintings was selected for the Biennale des Beaux-Arts, Paris France in 1995.

Lise was seen on TV in ‘’La route des Arts’’ (Road of the Arts) at the Télé-Québec and Evasion channels in 2000 and again in 2001-2002.

MEDIA COVERAGE: some of her works were reproduced from 1983 to 2009, in several Art books, edited by Guy Robert, Louis Bruens, Félix Vallée, Jacques de Roussan, Marc de Roussan and Jacques Latulipe (Magazin’Art).


Agendas : 1996 : Domtar Magazine : Cover page of ‘’Le maître imprimeur’’ 1990
1998: Utilis Newspaper : Cover page of ‘’Habitabec’’ 1993-1994
Television : Télé-Québec, Évasion - 2000-01-02 Calendars : City of Laval (Qué.) 1999-2006-2008
Poster : Laval en fleurs 1998 / Laval Spring publicity Litho.Mille-Iles 2003-04-05-06

Artistic magazine : Magazin’Art, Spring edition 2001; pages 67-68-69-102-103.

She is a member of the Institut des Arts figuratifs ‘’I.A.F.’’ (Figurative Art Institute) and since1995 President of the Académie des peintres professionnels de Laval ‘’A.P.P.L.’’ (Laval professional painters Academy) fo which she has been member since 1989; she is also a member of RAAV (Visual Art artists Group ) since 2001.

For several years, she is a Visual Art teacher (oil painting); she has been sharing her knowledge at the Cartierville Cultural Center of (Mtl.), since 1995. She also gave Art courses in 1975-76 and later in 1985-86 to Art students in Laval and Ville Lasalle.

Her paintings are part of private and corporative collections in Canada, Europe and the United States. Her works can now be seen at several better Art galleries in the provinces of Quebec, Ontario and Alberta.

Lise Paradis is passionate about her art; she is constantly searching for perfection and beauty in this forever changing world.

Her palette reflects the joy for living.

Tout droits réservés © L.Plus Graff 2009

Lise Paradis est née et a grandi à Montréal. Elle vit et travaille à Laval depuis près de cinquante ans. Sa formation artistique première lui vient des Beaux-Arts de Montréal (fusain et pastel), de 1951 à 1953, puis de 1957 à 1960, du Studio Salette, Mtl., afin de maîtriser le dessin commercial, le lettrage, le dessin de mode ainsi que l’illustration.

Ses tableaux sont inspirés par la nature et les scènes du quotidien. Force et douceur se côtoient harmonieusement dans son œuvre qui se veut très versatile; on y retrouve des paysages, personnages, natures mortes y compris les fleurs. Les enfants, les animaux et les oiseaux ont toujours eu une grande place dans ses toiles.

Quoique sa production majeure soit réalisée à l’huile, ses médiums préférés sont l’huile et l’aquarelle; l’acrylique l’enchante, tandis que le pastel et le fusain sont de vieilles connaissances pour elle. Elle est autodidacte en ce qui concerne : l’huile, l’aquarelle et l’acrylique

Bien que québécoise de naissance, elle a découvert le Québec à travers son Art, en parcourant la province à la recherche d’horizons nouveaux qui inspireraient sa sensibilité. Laval, sur les rives de la Rivière-des-Milles-Iles, Charlevoix, la Beauce, le Bas-du fleuve, l’Abitibi,le Témiscamingue, les Cantons-de-l’Est , la Côte Nord, la Basse-Côte Nord, la Gaspésie…etc, lui ont procuré l’essence de ses plus belles œuvres.

Lise Paradis est un bourreau de travail. Elle a participé à de nombreuses expositions collectives et plusieurs Solos sont à son crédit, avec succès, dont le Jardin botanique de Mtl. en 1987; le Centre culturel de Verdun, en 1987; la galerie France Martin, Mtl. en 1988; aux États-Unis, dans le Maryland (à deux pas de Washington), en 1991-1992-1993; la galerie Manseau Joliette (duo) en 1992-1994; le Musée de Vaudreuil-Dorion, en 1993; le Hall des Arts/Hôtel de Ville de Laval, en 1996; le Foyer de la Salle André Mathieu de Laval, en 2002 et plusieurs autres avant 1987. Aussi, elle s’est vue décerner le Prix du public en quatre occasions. Un de ses tableaux a été sélectionné pour la Biennale des Beaux-Arts à Paris, France en 1995.

Lise Paradis a été vue à la télévision, dans l’émission ‘’La route des Arts’’, à Télé-Québec et au canal Évasion, en juin et juillet 2000 et en rediffusion en 2001-2002.

Ses tableaux ont été reproduits, de 1983 à 2009, dans plusieurs livres d’Art, édités par Guy Robert, Louis Bruens, Félix Vallée, Jacques et Marc de Roussan, ainsi que par Jacques Latulipe (Magazin’Art).

Aussi :


Agendas : Domtar, 1996 Page couverture/revue : Le maître imprimeur, 1990
Utilis, 1998 Page couverture/journal : Habitabec, 1993-1994
Calendriers : Calendrier de Ville de Laval, 1999-2006-2008
Télévision : Télé-Québec, 2000-01-02 Calendrier de Litho.Mille-Iles 2003-04-05-06-
Canal Évasion, 2000-01-02 Affiche : Laval en fleurs,1998 / publicité printanière/Laval.

Revue artistique : Magazin’Art, édition/printemps 2001:pages:67,68,69,102,103

Elle est membre (’89), de l’Institut des Arts figuratifs I.A.F. et présidente de l’Académie des peintres professionnels de Laval A.P.P.L., depuis 1995 et dont elle devint membre en 1989; elle est aussi membre du Regroupement des artistes en Arts visuels RAAV, depuis 2001.

Depuis plusieurs années, elle est professeur en Art visuel (peinture à l’huile); c’est au Centre culturel de Cartierville qu’elle prodigue son enseignement, maintenant et ce, depuis 1995. Elle a aussi enseigné en 1975-1976 et plus tard en 1985-1986, à Laval et Ville Lasalle.

Ses tableaux font partie de collections privées et corporatives, au Canada, Europe et États-Unis. On retrouve ses œuvres dans plusieurs bonnes galeries d’Art, au Québec, en Ontario et en Alberta.

Lise Paradis est passionnée par son métier et toujours avide de perfection dans ce monde sans cesse en évolution et cultive un soucis constant de la beauté.

Sa palette reflète la joie de vivre.

Tout droits réservés © L.Plus Graff 2009